Daily Prompts – Antique Antics

What’s the oldest thing you own? Recount its history – from the objects point of view.

When I was about 14, I started collecting elephants.  Not just any kind of elephant.  They had to be top realistic looking.  My very first elephant is about an inch high, and if I’m going to write this from his point of you, let me start by saying he’s got a major superiority complex.  No matter how man times I’ve moved, or where ever we go, he always sits on a top shelf, above all the others.  He IS the oldest and therefore the wisest, so the top shelf just seems appropriate.

I only really collect 3 things… Elephants, blue glass and writing supplies.  They all have a special place in my heart.  But looking around the house, I can see that this particular elephant has been through it all with me.  If only he could talk…  He’d have a lot to say, I can assure you that much.  He isn’t ignored.  None of them are.  I dust out the cabinet regularly, and take pride in my collection.  So… let’s say this is now from HIS POV…

I spot her from across the room.  We make eye contact, and it’s love at first sight.  I am so cute that she forgets why she came into this store to begin with.  I’ve never had someone give me such attention!  I love it!!  My happiness is short-lived though.  I’m wrapped in uncomfortable tissue paper and put in a box for what seems like forever. At this point, I’d rather be back on that dusty shelf where I can at least enjoy the scenery.

When the bumpy ride is over, I start to see daylight.  It gets even brighter!  She’s taking me back out!  Oh, thank God!  This tissue paper has me itching all over.  I’m tossed around a bit, shown off (blushing), and before long, I’m placed on her dresser.  The room we share which I assume is hers, has so much more to see!  And colors!!  Look at all the colors!  And… I am officially named!!

I hear her talking all the time; on the phone, when friends come over, but she never talks to me.  I wish she would…  She’s sad today.  I wish I could talk so that I could cheer her up.  She cries herself to sleep most nights but I’m the only one who knows this.  And most times it’s because of some stupid boy.

As the years go by, we move around a lot.  I’m witness to all the special events (marriage, birth of a baby, watching the baby grow into a smart boy, divorce, watching her read and she’s forever writing).  I watch when no one else is around; I see what no one else gets to see.  She has added several other elephants to the cabinet where we reside, but I’m the only one she’s named, and from where I’m sitting (TOP SHELF) I can see more than the rest.

I don’t get as much attention as I once did, but I love my life with her.  She takes good care of me.  I wouldn’t want it any other way…

 

Fellow Bloggers, meet Oscar Dela Hoya Elephante’…

unnamed

Sitting Top Shelf!!

Top Shelf

 

 

Leave a Reply

