Writing 101 Day 7: Give and Take

“So, even though I’m new at blogging, I’m really getting the hang of it. People are starting to leave feedback, they’re “liking” my blogs; Mom, I feel great! I’m finally back to writing”

“That’s Great Jillian! I’m so proud of you. I knew you could do it.”

Suddenly, there’s a loud crash from inside the house.

“Noah? Are you ok?”

…silence

“Hey mom, I have to let you go. Something’s going on inside.

Jillian opens the door to see a tossed salad all over the kitchen floor, and a very angry Noah.

“What happened?” she asks.

“Well, since someone was too busy on the computer all day to get the dishes done, I reached into the sink to grab a fork to wash and dropped my damn dinner. You’re slacking Jillian. I just worked a 12 hour shift; I’m tired, I’m starving and I don’t have the patience to deal with this.”

“Noah, I’m sorry! I was writing. In fact, I was writing ALL DAY. It’s MY job! You see me at the computer and your hands aren’t broken. Why couldn’t you do the dishes?”

“Because I just finished my job for the day. I’ll be damned if I’m going to have to come to do even more work. Why don’t you make a chore chart for your son? Then maybe something will finally get done around this house.”

Completely stunned, Jillian looks at the small mess, and the fact that Noah had severely over reacted. Determined not to absorb his negative energy, she turns to her son.

“Hey Max, get your shoes on.”

“Where are we going mom?”

“Would you like to eat dinner tonight?”

“Yeah… Can we get McDonald’s?”

“For you? Anything. Let’s go. A date at McDonald’s it is. Noah can stay home, make himself another salad and fester in his own anger. I certainly don’t want to be around him right now. Do you?

“Nah. Let’s just go. I’ll put my nice clothes on so it’s like a real date.”

“Deal. I’ll meet you outside in five minutes, and make sure you remember to wear your smile.”

Leave a Reply

