Writing 101, Day Ten: Happy (Insert Special Occasion Here)!

Tell us about your favorite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory.

Feel free to focus on any aspect of the meal, from the food you ate to the people who were there to the event it marked.

Today’s twist: Tell the story in your own distinct voice.

As a child, a nice, HUGE, fat turkey dinner meant that all was right in the world.  It was Thanksgiving (because that’s the only time the stores sold turkeys… or so I believed) and we would all be together. Us kids off from school, dad home from work…  Mom cooking dinner, Dad watching a football game, all 3 of us kids sneaking into the kitchen to steal some of that crispy skin.  Life was good.

Snacks of pepperoni and cheese, mixed nuts, chips and dip all spread about the coffee table.  I could always count on mom to switch the channel so that we could watch the parade.  But regardless of the time, from morning until night, our house smelled of nothing but an oven roasted turkey.

As the day progressed, we all scattered and did our own thing.  My sister on the phone with her friends, my brother in his room doing God only knows what boys his age do alone in their rooms, and I was always underfoot. However, when it was time to eat, and dad started carving, we just as suddenly reappeared; anxious to fill our plates. Their was no order… the food was brought to the table and we all dove right in.  Turkey, mashed potatoes, stuffing, gravy, mixed vegetables, warm rolls, pearled onions and cranberry jelly.

Years later, my parents are divorced, I have a civilized relationship with my brother, and my sister and I don’t talk at all .  So, in times of sadness I’ll think back to days like Thanksgiving.  These are MY memories.  You can disown me as family, but you can never take away what is forever burned into my brain.  With each new year comes new traditions.  I now have an 11 year old who I hope to make similar memories for.  The only difference being, now that I do the grocery shopping, we tend to have turkey a couple of times throughout the year.

2 thoughts on “Writing 101, Day Ten: Happy (Insert Special Occasion Here)!

Leave a Reply

