Writing 101: Day 14 To whom it may concern…

The words that literally jumped out at me were “Homework and Examinations”.  The book?  “The Conscious Parent” by Shefali Tsabary, PhD

 

Dear Superintendent of schools,

This is a letter if intent.  I am sending it certified, as to ensure you do in fact receive it.

This entire school year has been nothing less than a complete nightmare for my son.  Going into the junior high is stressful enough, but the limited staff versus the number of students in that particular school is laughable.  The principle assured us at the open house that you, as a whole, would go above and beyond for individual student’s who may need help.

After several attempts to contact the principal, not a single issue I’ve had concerns with have been addressed.  My son comes home everyday, crying, with videos of him getting beat up, pushed around, and called highly inappropriate names.  He fears going to school every morning because an eighth grader threatened to stab him!  I spoke with the principal about this issue and was again, reassured that “it will be taken care of.”  Well, if you haven’t picked up on the tone of this letter, let me inform you; it was never addressed.

How is my son supposed to excel in anything if he is in a constant state of fear?  He has 4 minutes between each class.  Then 45 minute classes.  It is during those 45 minute classes that he has a chance to calm himself down, thanking God that he made it through those 4 minutes without incident.  As the 45th minute of the class nears, his anxiety spikes and he has all he can do to make to the final minute, just to go back out into the hallway and face his worst fears.  He isn’t able to concentrate in class at all, because he’s so stressed out about the 4 minutes he just survived and the 4 minutes soon approaching.  Being under this much stress, he is unable to retain anything from the class, therefore failing examinations, and not understanding what’s being asked of him as far as homework assignments.

This letter is to inform you that I am withdrawing my son from your school and will be home schooling him for the 2014-2015 school year.  I can no longer sit back and watch as my son gets tormented on a daily basis, and nothing is done to the older kids doing it because they are the sports stars giving your district a good name.

Thank you for providing to the best of your abilities, the education my son received this past school year.  I do hope the future budget allows you to hire more staff members, a security system/metal detector, and maybe a few more aides for the classrooms to assist the teachers.

Sincerely,

Kate

 

Now, this is all that I would like to say to the superintendent, but my letter of intent will not be as lengthy nor detailed.  The principal knows exactly how I feel and has tried to convince me that home schooling him will do more harm than good.  I have already been in contact with another mom who home schools all 4 of her kids and she has nothing but good things to say about it.  So, I will be removing my son from the school district, and I will also be writing this letter of intent.  This lesson, was the best thing that has happened to me today.  These are all the things I want to shout at the school staff, the principal and the superintendent, but that wouldn’t make me look very classy.  So, I was able to vent on here, and now I can write the actual letter.  Thank you SO much for today’s lesson!!

~Kate

Also, my apologies to the administrator of this page.  I have been “absent” for a few assignments and forgot how I was supposed to link it.  I believe I did a ping back and then realized….wrong class.  So, ignore the ping back.  I posted where I was supposed to.  Again, sorry about that.

3 thoughts on “Writing 101: Day 14 To whom it may concern…

    • justkate914 says:

      Thank you. It is very much appreciated. However, if you read my post from yesterday, you’ll see that I’m shutting this blog down. If you emai me with your wordpress address, I’ll look you up from my new account.

      Thanks,
      ~Kate

    • justkate914 says:

      Thank you. I just wanted to let you know that I’m closing this account down. I’ve already got a new account and I’m following you now, but this is proving to be a very difficult process. I went from 50+ followers to 5. Very sad… I’ll email you from my new account.

Leave a Reply

